Eating Crow

Swallow your pride occasionally, it’s not fattening. Frank Tyger

It’s true it isn’t fattening – Brussel sprouts aren’t either – that doesn’t mean I enjoy eating them.

No one likes being put in their place – that’s for sure…but as I have grown emotionally – maybe the right word is matured (as in a fine wine — or smelly cheese if I stick with the eating analogy), I have learned to appreciate that bitterness can be a flavor that has its place.

When I was younger, I would just get angry and try to be right and justify and make all sorts of excuses – because I could not accept some things. I like truth. I still do. I would act out and be righteous too! I am smart and a good thinker so of course I was right. How dare you NOT see that !!! Come on — I mean COME ON!!! I am intuitive. I see and observe a great deal. I would often see and notice many things that others would not. I formulated, what I now call ‘my theories’ about people and events and how things should be.

I am good at it. Maybe that is why I like to ruminate and write. More theories – yummy.

Turns out that my theories are actually just stories from my point of view and assessed from my version of truth (key word here — MY). What I did not realize in my ‘story making’ was that it was one-sided – my side. And as rich as I can be with my thoughts and emotions – others can be too… usually ARE too. Although as I sit here and type, I would argue that my versions are usually pretty insightful (see my righteous edge is still here)… Sorry I can’t help myself.

However, once in a while – usually in a heated argument – but not always – sometimes it is during a conversation with that wine and smelly cheese I mentioned earlier. I hear something that shifts me. In the argument scenario, it usually hits me.
Something that shifts my truth – in a way that slaps the righteous gremlin inside me. I realize that there is an internal energetic shift when I am faced with a truth I did not see, did not want to see. For me it is more often – that I did not see and my system has to adjust that I am ‘wrong’ or mistaken (OH MY!!!) or I learn to see a situation in an entirely new, unexpected way.

Sometimes the ‘shock’ of it – rewires my system in such a way that it reverberates. I have to stop moving, talking and take it in, let it settle into my body, my mind – my earthly features. There is a stillness that settles over me, in me. So that I can let it seep into me.

So there was a time when eating crow was shameful and very difficult to chew and still face someone else… But the fact that I can experience the jolt and quiet seeping shows me that – I have grown – ahem… matured. (Yeah! – Let’s face it NOT an easy feat).

Actually it is a mixed feeling for me now. My true mature adult self is genuinely appreciative – I love the fact that I was jolted into seeing how someone else saw something. I connected. It does remind me that I am not alone.
However, the child in me or maybe my ego still hates pulling feathers out of my teeth. Pthew Pthew – yuck …yuck.
I still need to honor the inner child, sooooo although I like the ‘mini growth spurt’ I would rather not have it at every meal.

About Rebecca J.

As I explore what it means to be a writer, I can't help but think of dancing. Dancing with words, dancing with feelings, dancing with truth and the courage to express it. Dancing with the story present in all of us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

